401 East Whitestone Boulevard Suite A-103 Cedar Park, TX 78613 +1 512 477 8468
For an enjoyable afternoon, take a scenic journey on this Central Texas vintage steam train. Traveling deep through the Hill Country, this excursion is a must-see for any train buff. Wander through small Texas towns and view the beauty of an era gone by, all while enjoying a relaxing trip in an old-time rail car. Visit the Web site for a schedule of departure times. Prices vary based on seating.
1165 Angelina Street Austin, TX 78702 +1 512 974 4926
As the first neighborhood museum in the state dedicated to African American history and culture, this 1926 structure houses various forms of art. The library was once Austin's main library and received a Texas State Historical Marker in 1976. The museum is named in honor of Dr. George Washington Carver, a black slave who went on to graduate from college in 1894. The museum exhibits a fantastic collection, as well as changing exhibits of black history and culture in Austin and Travis County.
Coronado Studios is named for artist and owner Sam Coronado, who showcases Hispanic and Native American works of art, as well as his own work in it's premises. The comfortable atmosphere makes this an ideal gallery for lingering and viewing the many works for sale. Coronado has been featured on Art Journeys-a PBS series. He is also involved in the Serie Print Project, offering artists a forum for communicating ideas while producing artwork. This program is dedicated to supporting Latino art in the community.
Just east of Austin, this park boasts some of the most popular activities for the outdoor enthusiast, including boating and fishing. Spend an afternoon taking leisurely hikes while enjoying this Audubon sanctuary. Bank and boat fishing are available along with open space, picnic areas, tables, grills and restrooms.
This nationally recognized 18-hole course offers a pro shop and complete practice facilities. Those facilities include a full driving range a wedge area, a chipping area and a putting green. Professional golfers Jeff Wilson, Karl Hartman and Kevin Taylor are on staff here and offer their wealth of knowledge. Tee times are taken five days in advance for weekdays, and on Thursday beginning at 7am for the weekend. The golf course is open 6:45 am onwards everyday.
1601 Navasota Street Austin, TX 78702 +1 512 478 7152
These beautiful grounds are the tranquil resting-place for over 23,000 people, including Governor James Hogg and his daughter Ima. The architect who designed the Governor's mansion, Abner Cook, rests here along with the first person who was ever buried in this cemetery in 1839; when Texas was still called the Republic of Texas. This is Austin's oldest cemetery and despite its location (near the Interstate), it is surprisingly peaceful. With beautiful trees and old iron adornments this is a unique place to take a walk.
909 Navasota Street Austin, TX 78702 +1 512 463 0605
This 18-acre cemetery is the final resting place of some of Austin's most famous military and public figures, including Stephen F. Austin, Barbara Jordan and nearly 2200 veterans of the Confederate Army. It was restored in 1997 with a Visitor Center addition and is a very tranquil place to be. Visitors may call ahead to arrange for guided tours, or take a private tour with help from the Visitor Center's information packets. Admission is free.
From 1843 to 1912 this cabin was home to Henry Green Madison. After caring for eight children with his wife Louise in this cabin, they finally built a larger home in 1886. The Madisons built this new frame house around the structure of the old cabin and it was not again seen until a construction crew uncovered it in 1968. The cabin currently resides in Rosewood Park after its donation to the City of Austin by Ninabelle Wooten.
409 East Fifth Street Austin, TX 78701 +1 512 472 1903
Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The home has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
802 San Marcos Street Austin, TX 78702 +1 512 472 8180
King Louis Philippe ordered Alphonse Dubois de Saligny of France to Austin in 1839 to become the French liaison to the Republic of Texas. He insisted on being called "Count" and built this home on 22 acres of land in 1841. While waiting for building to cease, he was involved in a dispute over pigs and moved to Louisiana. He never returned to Texas and did not spend a single night in this home. In 1848 Dr. Joseph Robertson purchased the home and passed it on through his family for years; in 1949 the State of Texas acquired it. The home has been restored and even houses a French Creole kitchen.
The Visual Arts Center (VAC) is a venue for the
art and art history department at the University of Texas in Austin to showcase their work. Many events take place here as well, such as lectures, art galleries, performing ...
First United Methodist Church of Austin is a huge Victorian
style church in the heart of the downtown business district. Founded in 1839, the church is proud of presenting inspiring sermons that uplift while remaining relevant to the challenges ...
InterContinental Stephen F Austin Hotel is synonymous with elegant luxury.
Situated in downtown Austin, Stephen F Austin Hotel is ideal for leisure and business travelers alike. A classy structure with beautifully furnished interiors and a plethora of amenities, make ...