Before the current state capitol was built in Jefferson City, legislators debated slavery and states rights in this historic area of St. Charles. After Missouri became a state in 1826, the people of St. Charles provided this site as a temporary capitol. Tour the capitol offices on the second floor of the historic building that originally housed the Peck Brothers General Store. The offices of the governor were kept in an adjoining building. Daily tours of this restored historic site include an audiovisual presentation and a trip through a museum.